Atlantic Kayak Association
2017 Trip Schedule

The schedule is a dynamic thing, with dates, times and locations changing.
Ensure that you have the most current page by refreshing your Browser cache
Ctrl F5

A lot of paddles are duplicated on the schedule for two reasons.
Some are fantastic paddles, alternately we may get blown out of the water if the winds are too high to be considered safe.
Paddles may be cancelled on relatively short notice - check here before heading out.

Overview Map
New Brunswick Maps
 
Environment Canada Marine Forecast
 
DATE

TIME

LOCATION High Tide

MAPS

NOTES
April   The Club POOL session - Active Club Members only
Wet exits and rescues - once you know you can do it, it makes paddling more relaxing.
For beginners … teaching paddlers how to do two-man rescues and paddle-float self-rescues.
Contact Don at The Kayak Exchange for more information - Space is limited
     
May 13 Sat 1:30PM
 

Hopewell Rocks - Historical access point (two days are shown and weather will decide which)
NOTE: The water will be painfully cold - maybe 4º to 6ºC.  Wetsuits or Drysuits are a necessity.
NOTE: Road issues -
Route 114 OPENED!

2:37PM


May 20/21
Sat OR Sun
10AM (Forecast as of May 19 is for WIND 20-40km/h on Saturday & Sunday - Moved to Monday) All Day
May 22 - Mon 10AM Shediac River - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11
Victoria Day Paddle
All Day
May 28 - Sun 10AM Cocagne Island (circumnavigate island - 12.5km) - Put in at Cormierville - Exit 15 on HWY 11 All Morning
 
June 04 - Sun 9:30AM Bourgeois / Caissie Cape Government Wharf - Exit 7 on HWY 11 7:22PM
 
June 07 - Wed 6PM Aboujagane River Midnight  
June 11 - Sun 10AM Circumnavigate Shediac Island (12km) - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11 All Morning
June 14 - Wed 6PM Bourgeois / Caissie Cape Government Wharf - Exit 7 on HWY 11 4:30AM
 
June 18 - Sun 10AM Buctouche Dunes - South End - put-in Saint Thomas-de-Kent - Exit 27 on HWY 11  
 
June 21 - Wed 6PM Robichaud Village Wharf - Exit 46 on HWY 15 10:30PM
June 25 Sun 11:00AM Cape Enrage 13.5km  NOTE: The water will be pretty cold.  Wetsuits or Drysuits are a good idea.
INTERMEDIATE & ADVANCED PADDLERS ONLY (Can be a tricky start and a 7km paddle into the wind)
1:40PM
June 28 - Wed   Low Tide      
July 01 - Sat 11AM Canada Day - Richibucto area - Cap-Lumiere (May be mosquitoes)
Forecast is not looking great for this weekend as of June 29 - Strong east winds and rain
11:04AM
July 05 - Wed 6PM Buctouche Dunes - South End - put-in Saint Thomas-de-Kent - Exit 27 on HWY 11 4AM
 
July 08/09
Sat OR Sun
TOO WINDY
11:30AM
Noon
Wolfe Point - Alma, NB
Fundy National Park  Meet in Alma at 10:45AM or 11:15AM (depending on the day)
All forecasts show it as too much wind and waves on Saturday AND Sunday
12:54PM
1:39PM

July 12 - Wed 6PM Bourgeois / Caissie Cape Government Wharf - Exit 7 on HWY 11
Self-rescue training or a paddle - your call
3:50AM
 
July 16 - Sun 10AM Buctouche Dunes - North End - Saint Edouard de Kent - Exit 32 on HWY 11 Midnight
July 19 - Wed 6PM Circumnavigate Shediac Island (12km) - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11 9:05PM
July 23 - Sun 11:30AM Five Islands Provincial Park, Nova Scotia   More Photos
Too windy for Saturday, half as strong for Sunday
1:38PM
July 26 - Wed   Low Tide      
July 29 - Sat 12:30PM Cape Tormentine to The Confederation Bridge and the Cape Jourimain dunes Exit 47 on HWY 16 4:29PM
Aug 02 - Wed 6PM Circumnavigate Shediac Island (12km) - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11 9:24PM
Aug 05/06
Sat OR Sun
10:00AM
10:45AM
Five Islands Provincial Park, Nova Scotia   More Photos 12:01PM
12:42PM

Aug 07 - Mon   New Brunswick Day      
Aug 09 - Wed   Low Tide evening      
Aug 12 - Sat   Low Tide morning      
Aug 16 - Wed 6PM Circumnavigate Shediac Island (12km) - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11 All Evening
Aug 19 - Sat          
Aug 23 - Wed          
Aug 27 - Sun          
Aug 30 - Wed 6PM Circumnavigate Shediac Island (12km) - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11 All Evening
Sept 03 - Sun Noon Cap de Saint Louis - Exit 69 on HWY 11 - Kouchibouguac Grey Seal Adventure (bring insect repellant) 4:12AM
Sept 04 - Mon   Labour Day      
Sept 10 - Sun 1:30PM Cocagne Island (circumnavigate island - 12.5km) - Put in at Cormierville - Exit 15 on HWY 11 All Afternoon
 
Sept 16 - Sat          
Sept 23 - Sat          
Sept 30 - Sat          
Oct 07/08
Sat OR Sun
12:30PM
1:00PM
Alma, NB - Wolfe Point
Fundy National Park  Meet in Alma at 11:45AM or 12:15PM (depending on the day)
1:53PM
2:32PM

Oct 07 - Sat          
Oct 09 - Mon   Thanksgiving      
Oct 14 - Sat          
Oct 15 - Sun 10:00AM Cape Enrage
INTERMEDIATE & ADVANCED PADDLERS ONLY (Can be a tricky start and a 7km paddle into the wind)
12:36PM
Oct 21 - Sat 12:45PM

Hopewell Rocks - Historical access point

1:48PM
Oct 28 - Sat          
           
   

OK, that's it for the season.

     

Tides dictate where and when we can paddle, and weather dictates if we can paddle.
Wednesday and Saturday paddles may change to Thursday and Sunday paddles as the weather dictates.
Other events may be added as the season progresses.
All current members will be advised by group email of upcoming trips and events as they draw near.