Atlantic Kayak Association
2018 Trip Schedule

The schedule is a dynamic thing, with dates, times and locations changing.
Ensure that you have the most current page by refreshing your Browser cache
Ctrl F5

A lot of paddles are duplicated on the schedule for two reasons.
Some are fantastic paddles, alternately we may get blown out of the water if the winds are too high to be considered safe.
Paddles may be cancelled on relatively short notice - check here before heading out.

Overview Map
New Brunswick Maps
 
Environment Canada Marine Forecast
 
DATE

TIME

LOCATION High Tide

MAPS

NOTES
April 21 Sun 3PM

We have scheduled a meeting of the AKA for Saturday April 21, at 3 PM at The Kayak Exchange
We hope to elect a new President and Vice President of the club.
Please consider throwing your name into the hat.

     
May   The Club POOL session - Active Club Members only
Wet exits and rescues - once you know you can do it, it makes paddling more relaxing.
For beginners … teaching paddlers how to do two-man rescues and paddle-float self-rescues.
Contact Don at The Kayak Exchange for more information - Space is limited
     
May 13 Sun
Mother's Day
10:30AM
 

Hopewell Rocks - Historical access point (two days are shown and weather will decide which)
NOTE: The water will be painfully cold - maybe 4º to 6ºC.  Wetsuits or Drysuits are a necessity.

11:11AM


May 21 - Mon
Victoria Day
10AM Shediac River - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11 All Day
May 27 - Sun 10AM Buctouche Dunes - South End - put-in Saint Thomas-de-Kent - Exit 27 on HWY 11 5AM
 
June 03 - Sun 10AM Bourgeois / Caissie Cape Government Wharf - Exit 7 on HWY 11 All Day
 
June 06 - Wed 6PM Robichaud Village Wharf - Exit 46 on HWY 15
(Actually more interesting at Low Tide with the sand bars - low tide at 10:36PM.)
4:17PM
June 09 - Sat 10AM Buctouche Dunes - South End - put-in Saint Thomas-de-Kent - Exit 27 on HWY 11 7:47PM
 
June 13 - Wed 6PM Really Low Tide      
June 17 - Sun
Father's Day
10AM Cocagne Island (circumnavigate island - 12.5km) - Put in at Cormierville - Exit 15 on HWY 11 All Morning
 
June 20 - Wed 6PM        
June 23 - Sat          
June 27 - Wed 6PM        
July 15 - Sun 10:45AM Tidnish/Tidnish Bridge/Baie Verte 12:47PM
July 28 - Sat Noon Five Islands Provincial Park, Nova Scotia   More Photos 2:08PM
Aug 11/12
Sat or Sun
10:30AM
11:30AM
Wolfe Point - Alma, NB
Fundy National Park  Meet in Alma at 10AM or 11AM (depending on the day)
12:36PM
1:27PM

Aug 26 - Sun 11:30AM Five Islands Provincial Park, Nova Scotia   More Photos 1:38PM
           
    Winds and overall Nasty weather can play havoc with out schedule in September and October.  I've dual scheduled a number of paddles, but we'll go on the first one possible and relocate the second paddle.      
           
Sep 09/10
Sun or Mon
10:15AM
11:15AM
Wolfe Point - Alma, NB
Fundy National Park  Meet in Alma at 9:45AM or 10:45AM (depending on the day)
12:16PM
1:07PM

           
           
           
Oct 08 - Mon
Thanksgiving
9:30AM Cape Enrage
INTERMEDIATE & ADVANCED PADDLERS ONLY (Can be a tricky start and a 7km paddle into the wind)
11:54AM
Oct 21 - Sun 9:30AM

Hopewell Rocks - Historical access point

10:25AM
Oct 27 - Sat 1:15PM

Hopewell Rocks - Historical access point

2:31PM
Oct 28 - Sun 11:30AM Cape Enrage
INTERMEDIATE & ADVANCED PADDLERS ONLY (Can be a tricky start and a 7km paddle into the wind)
2:10PM
   

OK, that's it for the season.

     

Tides dictate where and when we can paddle, and weather dictates if we can paddle.
Wednesday and Saturday paddles may change to Thursday and Sunday paddles as the weather dictates.
Other events may be added as the season progresses.
All current members will be advised by group email of upcoming trips and events as they draw near.