Atlantic Kayak Association
2018 Trip Schedule

The schedule is a dynamic thing, with dates, times and locations changing.
Ensure that you have the most current page by refreshing your Browser cache
Ctrl F5

A lot of paddles are duplicated on the schedule for two reasons.
Some are fantastic paddles, alternately we may get blown out of the water if the winds are too high to be considered safe.
Paddles may be cancelled on relatively short notice - check here before heading out.

Overview Map
New Brunswick Maps
 
Environment Canada Marine Forecast
 
DATE

TIME

LOCATION High Tide

MAPS

NOTES
April 21 Sun 3PM

We have scheduled a meeting of the AKA for Saturday April 21, at 3 PM at The Kayak Exchange
We hope to elect a new President and Vice President of the club.
Please consider throwing your name into the hat.

     
May   The Club POOL session - Active Club Members only
Wet exits and rescues - once you know you can do it, it makes paddling more relaxing.
For beginners … teaching paddlers how to do two-man rescues and paddle-float self-rescues.
Contact Don at The Kayak Exchange for more information - Space is limited
     
May 13 Sun
Mother's Day
10:30AM
 

Hopewell Rocks - Historical access point
NOTE: The water will be painfully cold - maybe 4º to 6ºC.  Wetsuits or Drysuits are a necessity.

11:11AM


May 21 - Mon
Victoria Day
10AM Shediac River - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11 All Day
May 27 - Sun 10AM Buctouche Dunes - South End - put-in Saint Thomas-de-Kent - Exit 27 on HWY 11 5AM
 
June 03 - Sun
CANCELLED
10AM Bourgeois / Caissie Cape Government Wharf - Exit 7 on HWY 11
Forecast as of June 2 is for a LOT of wind - 33 gusting to 50 and 7ºC - NOT GOOD!
Environment Canada Marine Forecast - GALE WARNING IN EFFECT.
All Day
 
June 06 - Wed 6PM Robichaud Village Wharf - Exit 46 on HWY 15
(Actually more interesting at Low Tide with the sand bars - low tide at 10:36PM.)
4:17PM
June 09 - Sat 10AM Buctouche Dunes - South End - put-in Saint Thomas-de-Kent - Exit 27 on HWY 11 7:47PM
 
June 13 - Wed 6PM Really Low Tide (around 4:30PM)      
June 17 - Sun
Father's Day
10AM Cocagne Island (circumnavigate island - 12.5km) - Put in at Cormierville - Exit 15 on HWY 11 All Morning
 
June 20 - Wed
NOT GOOD
6PM Bourgeois / Caissie Cape Government Wharf - Exit 7 on HWY 11
(As Of 7PM Tuesday - TWN SW Winds forecast 25 gusting to 38 - BROADSIDE)
(EC Marine forecast Strong wind warning in effect southwesterly 37 to 46 in the afternoon)
5:48AM
 
June 23 - Sat 2PM Buctouche Dunes - North End - Saint Edouard de Kent - Exit 32 on HWY 11 4:39PM
June 27 - Wed 6PM Really Low Tide (around 2:30PM)      
June 30 - Sat
CANADA DAY
Noon Alma, NB towards Waterside
As of 5PM Friday, it looks like Saturday, June 30 is our best bet.
3PM
July 04 - Wed 6PM Bourgeois / Caissie Cape Government Wharf - Exit 7 on HWY 11 4:29AM
 
July 07 - Sat 10:30AM Richibucto area - Cap-Lumiere (May be mosquitos) 1:19AM
July 11 - Wed 6PM Robichaud Village Wharf - Exit 46 on HWY 15
(Actually more interesting at Low Tide with the sand bars - low tide at 10:36PM.)
Midnight
July 15 - Sun 10:45AM Tidnish/Tidnish Bridge/Baie Verte, NS 12:47PM
July 18 - Wed 6PM Low Tide (around 9PM) and Showers forecast      
July 21 - Sat   Low Tide (around 1PM - high tide around 5:30 or 6AM and 7or 8PM)      
July 25 - Wed 6PM Low Tide (around 4PM)      
July 28 - Sat Noon Five Islands Provincial Park, Nova Scotia   More Photos 2:08PM
Aug 01 - Wed 6PM Bourgeois / Caissie Cape Government Wharf - Exit 7 on HWY 11
Noon Wednesday - Forecast is for Winds 20 gusting to 30 and 28ºC (feels like 33ºC)
3:55AM
 
Aug 05 - Sun
Rescheduled
3PM Petit Cap - HWY 15 - Exit at Shemogue on HWY 950
As of 3PM Friday, there's a 60% chance of thunderstorms Saturday, rescheduled to Sunday
And the forecast was quite wrong for Sunday
6:23PM
Aug 08 - Wed 6PM Circumnavigate Shediac Island (12km) - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11
As of 9pm Tuesday, the weather looks great.
6:17AM
Aug 11 - Sat 10:30AM Wolfe Point - Alma, NB
Fundy National Park  Meet in Alma at 10AM
12:36PM
Aug 15 - Wed 6PM Low Tide (around 7:45PM)      
Aug 18 - Sat 3PM Low Tide (around 11:30AM)      
Aug 22 - Wed 6PM Circumnavigate Shediac Island (12km) - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11 11:49PM
Aug 26 - Sun 11:30AM Five Islands Provincial Park, Nova Scotia   More Photos
We'll paddle The Five Islands this time!
1:38PM
Aug 29 - Wed 6PM Last Wednesday Paddle for the Season
Low Tide (around 7PM)
     
           
    Winds and overall Nasty weather can play havoc with out schedule in September and October.  I've dual scheduled a number of paddles, but we'll go on the first one possible and relocate the second paddle.      
           
Sep 01 - Sat 2PM Cocagne Island (circumnavigate island - 12.5km) - Put in at Cormierville - Exit 15 on HWY 11 All Afternoon
 
Sep 02 - Sun 1PM Cap de Saint Louis - Exit 69 on HWY 11 - Kouchibouguac Grey Seal Adventure (bring insect repellant) 11PM
Sep 09 - Sun 10:00AM Cape Enrage
INTERMEDIATE & ADVANCED PADDLERS ONLY (Can be a tricky start and a 7km paddle into the wind)
12:18PM
Sep 15 - Sat 2PM Buctouche Dunes - North End - Saint Edouard de Kent - Exit 32 on HWY 11 4:42PM
Sep 23 - Sun 10:30AM Shediac River - Put-in at Shediac Bridge - Exit 7 on HWY 11
As of 2PM Saturday the forecast winds for the Paddle on Sunday are 26 gusting to 39 - HIGH
9:28AM
Sep 29 - Sat 2PM Fall Colours - Little Buctouche River to McKee's Mills from Bridge - Exit 27 on HWY 11 4:16PM
 
Oct 08 - Mon
Thanksgiving
         
Oct 21 - Sun 9:30AM

Hopewell Rocks - Historical access point

10:25AM
Oct 27 - Sat 1:15PM

Hopewell Rocks - Historical access point

2:31PM
Oct 28 - Sun 11:30AM Cape Enrage
INTERMEDIATE & ADVANCED PADDLERS ONLY (Can be a tricky start and a 7km paddle into the wind)
2:10PM
   

OK, that's it for the season.

     

Tides dictate where and when we can paddle, and weather dictates if we can paddle.
Wednesday and Saturday paddles may change to Thursday and Sunday paddles as the weather dictates.
Other events may be added as the season progresses.
All current members will be advised by group email of upcoming trips and events as they draw near.